пятница, 17 февраля 2012 г.


Award Recipients (pdf) Gov. Dave Heineman announced this year's recipients of the Governor's Excellence in Wellness Awards. A total of 27 Nebraska employers were honored for successful workplace wellness programs. The Governor will present awards to greater Nebraska company representatives during a luncheon today in Kearney.
"These awards recognize employers for their serious commitment to employee well-being," Gov. Heineman said. "Prevention and wellness efforts in the workplace have produced higher productivity, better employee satisfaction and helped control health care costs. Wellness works every time and these programs are helping more Nebraskans lead healthier lives."
The award was created to recognize Nebraska employers that have developed successful models for encouraging wellness at work. Lincoln and Omaha area businesses will be recognized during the Work Well Luncheon in Lincoln scheduled for Tuesday, Oct. 27.
Factors considered for the award included the level of support for the program by company leaders, assessment of employee needs, wellness plan design, outcomes and benefits, and policies supporting healthy behaviors. Wellness programs typically provide employees with health education, health screenings and opportunities for exercise.
Dr. Joann Schaefer, Nebraska's Chief Medical Officer, said, "Wellness programs empower employees to make good decisions about the health risk factors in their lives. They can help workers take action to avoid chronic illnesses that can adversely impact their health and affect their quality of life. We hope this award program will encourage more businesses to offer employee health and wellness programs."
Nebraska's workplace wellness program offers two categories. The Grower award division honors businesses and organizations demonstrating significant improvement in employee health behaviors, while the Sower award division recognizes workplaces with quality wellness programs.
Businesses receiving the Grower award include: Brownell-Talbot School in Omaha, the City of Grand Island, Continuum EAP in Lincoln, Creighton University of Omaha, the Fremont Area Medical Center, Gallup in Omaha, National Rural Electric Cooperative Association in Lincoln, Nebraska Bankers Association in Lincoln, Nebraska Heart Institute and Heart Hospital in Lincoln, Nebraska Risk Management Association, Inc. in Lincoln, Pfizer, Inc. in Lincoln, SilverStone Group in Omaha, Streck, Inc. in Omaha, Union College in Lincoln, UNMC Physicians in Omaha, and Warren Distribution, Inc. in Omaha.
Sower award recipients include: Ambassador Health System in Nebraska City, Cedars Youth Services in Lincoln, the City of Gering, Good Samaritan Hospital in Kearney, the Lincoln Surgical Hospital, Monsanto Company of Kearney, Morris Printing Group, Inc. in Kearney, the Nebraska Community Blood Bank of Lincoln, Region 6 Behavioral Health in Omaha, Royal Plastic Mfg., Inc. in Minden, and the YMCA of Greater Omaha.
Nebraska businesses can apply for one of the Governor's Excellence in Wellness Awards online at www.nebraska.gov or www.hhs.state.ne.us. Awards are presented annually and are good for three years. The award program is a partnership of the Office of the Governor, the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, the Nebraska Sports Council, and WorkWell, Inc. 

Комментариев нет:

Отправить комментарий